50 Years of Terror Tyranny and Oppression 1940–1991
Home      15 June 1940, The Beginning of Latvia Year of Occupation and Atrocities
15 June 1940, The Beginning of Latvia Year of Occupation and Atrocities 
The Beginning!
We first must journey back to the year 1940 and the beginning of the “Terror Tyranny and Atrocities” of the Latvian and its Latvian Jewish people,  basically ending 20 years of independence from being ruled by a foreign country.
It all started at dawn at 02:30hrs of the 15th of June 1940 with "NKVD" commando's raid on a Latvian Boarder Post and then with the Soviet Red Army invasion of the Latvia Territory and the occupation of Riga on the 17th of June 1940. Latvia’s terror started at once with the mass arrests, murders or deportations of its leaders to far regents of the Soviet Union. [Appendix XI - Soviet Union NKVD]
Then in June 1941 Latvians and Latvian Jewish terror again starting on the night of 13th and 14th of June 1941, where thousands of Latvians and Latvian Jewish people were arrested with out warrant loaded on railway fright carriages and then deported to far regents of the Soviet Union or were outright murdered. The Stalin's Soviet Union "NKVD" mass deportation of prominent Latvians and Latvian Jewish leaders left the country leaderless when the "Nazi Germany Army invaded Latvia on Sunday, 22 June 1941 at 03:15hrs and finally entered the City of Riga Latvia on 1 July 1941", where they were welcomed as liberators from the year "June 1940 to June 1941" spent under Soviet Union and NKVD terror.  The Jewish terror and horror, which the Jewish people called the "Bloody Summer of 1941" with the “Beginning of Terror Against the Jewish people”, starting on the night of the 3rd of July 1941 and on the 4th of July 1941 with the Jewish people being dragged from their homes either being arrested, severally beaten or outright murdered by "pro-Nazi sympathizers and collaborators".
This was just the beginning of the Jewish and non-Jewish terror that year and the next four years and beyond!
To understand just what happened, first we must journey back to Moscow Russia and the late hours of 23 August 1939, were all this Terror Horror and Atrocities really started with the signing of The Molotov–Ribbentrop Pact and its Secret Protocol dividing Europe between them and dividing Poland. Within this pact, the Baltic States then fell under the Soviet Union and Stalin to which Stalin literally used intimidation to enforce it.
Author's Note:
The former Soviet Union and now the Federation of Russia literally and completely denied any part of this Molotov–Ribbentrop Pact and its Secret Protocol to nowadays even when they were presented with a copy of it that was recovered after the fall of Hitler and Nazi Germany.
Vyacheslav Molotov signs the German–Soviet non-aggression pact.
Standing behind him Joachim von Ribbentrop and Joseph Stalin
Nazi Germany – Soviet Union Leaders and their Foreign Ministers  
                                Adolf Hitler                                           Joachim von Ribbentrop                                            Joseph Stalin                                                  Vyacheslav Molotov
The Molotov–Ribbentrop Pact, colloquially named after the Soviet foreign minister Vyacheslav Molotov and the German foreign minister Joachim von Ribbentrop, was an agreement officially titled “the Treaty of Non-Aggression between Germany and the Soviet Union and signed in Moscow in the late hours of the 23rd of August 1939”. It was a non-aggression pact under which the Soviet Union and Nazi Germany each pledged to remain neutral in the event that either nation were attacked by a third party. It remained in effect until the 22nd of June 1941, when Germany invaded the Soviet Union.
In addition to stipulations of non-aggression, the treaty included a secret protocol dividing Northern and Eastern Europe into German and Soviet spheres of influence, anticipating potential "territorial and political rearrangements" of these countries. Thereafter, Germany and the Soviet Union invaded, on 1 and the 17 of September respectively, their respective sides of Poland, dividing the country between them. Part of eastern Finland was annexed by the Soviet Union after the Winter War. This was followed by Soviet annexations of Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Bessarabia, Northern Bukovina and Hertza region.