“TheCeļotājs” –
Kuldīga Town Sights in Courland
 
Promenade of Liepājas iela –
Lat: N56.96839, Lon: E021.96581
 
  
 
Liepāja iela is the old transit route to Liepāja. It has been closed to traffic since 1991 and is now a pedestrian walk. Many 18th and 19th century structures can be found here. The inner doors of Liepāja iela 1 are beautiful examples of the baroque style. Liepāja iela 3 is one of the most unique buildings of Kuldīga as it was originally built in the first half of the 18th century as a warehouse. It is a log structure with a spacious attic.
 
 
A Visually interesting combination are the three joining buildings at Liepājas iela 9, 11 and 13. They resemble the “Three Brothers” in Riga and have a unique water tower behind them.
Small Flower Market –
With small arrangements of flowers for sale
 
Kuldiga Post Office –
The Post Office building at Liepajas iela 34 was used as the town prison until 1932. Herta, the telegrapher, who was working there on night shifts in the 30s, told that she occasionally used to wake up when somebody seemed to pull her hair, yet there was nobody in the room. Other employees also were saying that this building was hunted.
 
Baltic Teachers’ Seminary – ANNO 1877 – 
One should note the grand building at Liepājas iela 31, built 1877-1879 where the Baltic Teachers’ Seminars took place from 1886-1915. Many notable Latvian cultural luminaries were educated here: writers Vilis Plūdons 1874-1940 and Valdis “Voldemārs” Zālītis 1865-1934, painter Pauls Irbītis 1890-1973, singer and musicologist Jēkabs Kārkliņš 1867-1960 and others. Ants Pīps 1884-1942, future prime minister 1920-1921 and foreign minister 1921-1922, 1932 of Estonia, also graduated from this school.
 
Hand Made Bench –
A smartly made hand made bench.
 
Café Staburadze –
Located along Liepajas iela is a building known as Café Staburadze Liepajas iela 8 was a pharmacy in the early 1913.
 
Stenfer’s Pub – Former 2 Story Corn Exchange 
Located at Liepāja iela 3 is one of the most unique buildings of Kuldīga as it was originally built in the first half of the 18th century as a warehouse and former 2 story corn exchange. It is a log structure with a spacious attic.
 
    
 
 
Home
 
 
 
 
Revised: 04/23/2013 – 13:29:28