“TheCeļotājs” –
Kuldīga Town Sights in Courland
 
 
"TheCeļotājs" - Kuldīgas pilsētas apskates vietas Kurzemē
 
Venta River
 
Alekšupīte River
 
East End of Liepājas iela
 
The Court Pharmacy of the Duke Jacob – ANNO 1622
 
Holy Trinity Roman Catholic Church – ANNO 1641 
 
 
 
 
 
Revised: 04/23/2013 - 14:23:45
 
 
 
Old Brick Arch Bridge
 
Welcome to Kuldiga
 
And please join “TheCeļotājs” latest Travels around Latvia with our excursions of Latvian Cities, Towns and Villages as we visit the Town of Kuldiga Latvia and explore Kuldiga many historical sights. We will begin exploring the Town of Kuldiga and its many historical structures and sights starting with a walk along Promenade of Liepajas iela and its many historical buildings. Liepāja iela is the old transit route to Liepāja. It has been closed to traffic since 1991 and is now a pedestrian walk. Many 18th and 19th century structures can be found here. The inner doors of Liepāja iela 1 are beautiful examples of the baroque style. Liepāja iela 3 is one of the most unique buildings of Kuldīga as it was originally built in the first half of the 18th century as a warehouse. It is a log structure with a spacious attic.
 
The Town of Kuldiga "Kuldīga" in Latvian, is the most charming, most magnetic and magical towns in Latvia. It is a town which has preserved its medieval appearance and charm. As shows the ancient castle mound located 3.5km down the River Venta and being mentioned in the ancient chronicles "8th–9th century", the present old town of Kuldiga which was constructed near the Castle of the Livonian Order of Knights was built in the period from 1242 till 1245 and was given the name by the castle and settlement of the Couronians. In the site of the Castle, we are philosophically and romantically affected by the Sculpture Garden which is a gift from the sculptress "Līvija Rezevska" to her native town. The ancient Castle Mill - ANNO 13th century, is located near the Bridge that across the River Venta was built by the highest natural threshold in Latvia, Alekšupīte Waterfall 4.2m". The Ancient town was constructed near the River Alekšupīte. All the houses being built before 7th century constitute the so called “Venice of Kuldiga” From the top of the newly built pinnacle several churches can be seen and observed in the view over the town of Kuldiga. "Saint Catherine’s Church" - ANNO 1252, is the oldest church in Kuldiga. A metal medallion with an image of Saint Catherine can be seen over the side "court" doors of the church. This is also an emblem of the town Kuldiga, because Catherine is a patroness of Kuldiga and she holds a rudder in the right hand and a spear "which is a symbol of power" in her left hand. In Kuldiga, every European can see familiar things characteristic to ancient cities without insertions of modernism. Such sites and buildings are, for example, Palace Chemists’ Shop "Baznīcas iela", the House of Burgomaster Stephenhagen, the Square of Town Hall with the Ancient Town Council and the building of the present City Council. Kuldiga is memorialized by the help of many movies which have the plot of action in Germany, Poland, Scandinavia and, of course, in Latvia. In times of the Duke Jacob reign, the Catholic Church of the Holy Trinity was built "1649". Saint  Ann Evangelically Lutheran Church – ANNO 1905, is the newest church in Kuldiga, but it is impressive with its Neogothic style. You are invited to enjoy the town of Kuldiga by going for a walk on the charming streets and observe the ancient buildings with unique doors and transoms.
 
 
Kuldiga, being an ancient town of Courland "Kurzeme", which lies on the River Venta where the waterfall Rumba has formed. This used to be the centre of the former territory of the Cours, Bandava. The hill fort of Veckuldīga, that lies near the present town on the left bank of the River Venta, was the biggest hillfort of the Cours. Already in the 9th century a settlement was formed near it. In the first part of the 13th century the territory of the Cours was invaded by German knights. The castle of the Cours was burnt down but the settlement remaind for some time. 
 
To consolidate their military power the knights started to build stone castles. One of them rose on the banks of the River Venta opposite the waterfall. They started building it in 1242, this was the very first time when the name of Kuldiga was mentioned in any kind of official documents. In the 14th century the town had already formed next to the castle. In 1368 Kuldiga became the member of the Hanseatic League. From 1596-1616 Kuldiga was the capital of the Duchy of Courland. During the reign of Duke Jakob "1642.-1682".  the Duchy of Courland and Kuldiga experienced its boom. During the Great Northern War in 1702 the Swedish army plundered and destroyed the castle so badly that it became uninhabitable.
 
The coat of arms of Kuldiga features Saint Catherine holding a torture wheel in her hand in the red background. St Catherine was the patroness of the town and the first church in Kuldiga built in 1252 was given her name. Originally it was a wooden church but in 1567 the building of the stone church was begun. During the centuries it has been renovated for several times.
 
The proud of Kuldiga is the ancient brick bridge across the River Venta "1873-1874" and the old town with its 17th - 18th century buildings. An original feature of every house is its entrance door decorated with wood-carvings, the skylight windows above it and the tiled roofs which are characteristics exclusive to Kuldiga. 
 
The memory of Duke Jacob has been immortalized by naming the new open air stage in Parventa, where opera performances and concerts take place in summers, after his name.
 
Today Kuldiga is the district centre with 13,500 inhabitants.  Summer comes to Kuldiga with a variety of exciting events. The most popular event is the traditional Kuldiga Town Festival, which takes place at the 3rd weekend of July.



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Venta "Ventas Rumba" Waterfalls
 
Alekšupīte River Waterfalls
 
The Oldest Wooden Building in Kurzeme rajons – ANNO 1670
 
Burgermeister Stafenhagen's House – ANNO 1252
 
Alter of Holy Trinity Roman Catholic Church