“TheCeļotājs” –
Grobiņa Town Sights in Courland
  
 
"TheCeļotājs" - Grobiņa pilsētas apskates Kurzemē
 
Grobina Lutheran Church – ANNO 1664 
 
Grobina Castle Ruins – ANNO 1253
 
Grobina Castle Hill :Skabarza kalns" – ANNO 5th to 13th Century
 
Grobina Mill Pond


 
Revised: 04/18/2013 - 06:02:35 
 
Grobina City Monuments – ANNO 1695
 
Welcome to Grobina!
 
And please join “TheCeļotājs” latest Travels around Latvia with our 
excursions of Latvian Cities, Towns and Villages as we visit the Town of Grobina Latvia and explore Grobina many historical sights. We will begin exploring the Town of Grobina and its many historical structures and sights starting at Grobina Lutheran Church that dates back to 1664 the walking  across the street we will explore Grobina Castle Ruins which is even older with a date if 1253. Then to round out our excursion we will visit a hill that is known as Grobina Castle Hill, which had inhabits living there from the 5th to 13th centuries. These are only a few of the many sights Grobina has to offer. 
 
Grobiņa has claimed the right to be a City since 1695
Area of ​​5.12 km ²
Population 4244 
 
Grobiņa is an ancient town in the west of Āland Courland River, Grobiņas district center is located just 10 miles east of Liepaja and 211km from the City of Riga. Grobina whichever language: “Gruobīns - hornbeam forest” is the oldest scriptures clearly the village Latvian territory - as Zēburga Seeburg mentions the 854th description of the events Rimberta Chronicle. 
 
Around the year 650 and 800, Grobiņas place was a great Norse settlement. On the Āland River and Lake Liepāja was then possible to ship traffic on the Baltic Sea, so the start-up to the Liepāja Grobiņa was the main sea trade port in the south part of Courland. The existence of these settlements is likely to reflect the Viking sagas message. Around the year 800, the Vikings took the mantle of the course. Around the year 875 Swedish Vikings attacked the kingdom Cours city, defended by 7,000 troops. After the defeat which crowns the Swedish king to declare itself on its citizens. 
 
In 1230, the contract by the papal legate Alnas Balduina concluded King Lamekins, Grobiņas areas was mentioned by the name Esestua. For the first time under the name Grobiņa or "hornbeam" in PIEMARE land mentioned in 1253. 
 
Around 1263 in the course of the uprising “Durbe Battle” Livonian Order GROBIŅAS attacked and burned Cours wooden castle. 
 
In 1269, the hill next to the Cours, a towering stone fortress was built, whose ruins are still visible today. 
 
In 1659, The Polish-Swedish War, the Swedes invaded the Duchy of Courland Grobiņas and burned their villages. In 1660 The Grobiņas Palace was for a while the Duke of Jacob's residence in Jelgava Palace for during the war it was too devastated. In 1695 The Duke of Courland “Friedrich Casimir” gave the GROBIŅAS the city the right time and Grobiņa the county town. In 1697 The GROBIŅAS was awarded the Coat of Arms - A Crane standing on one leg and the other raised leg is holding a stone. 
 
In 1710, the city suffered from the great plague. 
 
In 1812, The GROBIŅAS fought the Napoleon army. When World War I began and during 1915 the city was occupied by the Kaiser’s German troops. 
 
Latvian Republic composition (20.-21.gs.) 1920th the province was renamed Grobiņas Liepāja District.  
 
Grobina Lutheran Church – ANNO 1664
 
Grobina Castle Ruins – ANNO 1253
 
Alander River
 
Grobina Mill Pond